Read-Alikes

The books listed below are only a handful of the many related books held by the participating ‘One Book, One Community’ libraries. For more information, or ideas for other read-alikes, contact your local library.

Read-Alikes for Fractured Land: The Price of Inheriting Oil by Lisa Westberg Peters:

Fiction

Oil and Water by Mei Mei

Oil on Water by Helon Habila

Mean Spirit by Linda Hogan

Sundown by John Joseph Mathews

Cities of Salt by Abdelrahman Munif

Oil! by Upton Sunclair

Poetry

“Small Buried Things” by Debra Marquart

“The Oil Lamp” by Ogaga Ifowodo

“Oil” by Gary Snyder

“Gods of Vanished Species” and “Pterodactyl Rose” by William Heyen

“Midnight Oil” Sheryl St. Germain

Creative Nonfiction Titles:

The Tarball Chronicles: A Journey Beyond the Oiled Pelican and into the Heart of the Gulf Oil Spill by David Gessner

The End of the Country: Dispatches from the Frack Zone by Seamus McGraw

Academic Nonfiction Titles:

Ross Barrett and Daniel Worden, eds. Oil Culture

Amitav Ghosh, “Petrofiction: The Oil Encounter and the Novel”

Matthew T. Huber, Lifeblood: Oil, Freedom, and the Forces of Capital

Stephanie LeMenager, Living Oil: Petroleum Culture in the American Century

Scott Slovic, James E. Bishop, and Kyhl Lyndgaard, eds. Currents of the Universal Being: Explorations in the Literature of Energy